Rated by The Face: a weekly playlist

The best contemporary music – refreshed weekly.

There’s a daunting amount of music out there and we know it’s hard to keep up. But rather submitting yourself to an algorithm for new music recommendations, try this lovingly curated playlist that The Face will be updating every week.

Check out this week’s new additions below.

New additions:

Octavian – No Weakness

Octavian takes pride in experimenting beyond the framework of UK rap. From his new mixtape Endorphins – which was partly recorded as The Face profiled him in LA – No Weakness sees Octavian croon over Chromatics style synth-pop, and it sounds amazing.

Vagabon – Flood Hands

Originally produced and arranged for a well-known pop-duo to have on their album”, indie rock artist Vagabon embraces a more synthy sound for the lead track from new album All the Women in Me.

(Sandy) Alex G – Gretel

The gifted Philadelphia songwriter announced new album House of Sugar – this new song sneaks in what sounds suspiciously like pan-pipes.

Marika Hackman – the one

Having shifted from indie-folk to grungier territory for her last album I’m Not Your Man, Marika Hackman’s new single heads in a pop direction. And lyrically, Hackman’s not lost her bite.“I loved the idea of inhabiting this ridiculous arrogant rock star character who has totally fucked their career by writing too many sad songs,” she said in a press release.

Madonna – Come Alive

A fresh-feeling highlight from Madonna’s 14th studio album Madame X.

Kindness – Hard to Believe ft. Jazmine Sullivan

Adam Bainbridge is always up to something, but it’s been five years since we had a Kindness LP, and this September we’re getting a new one. Check out a teaser featuring Sampha and R&B singer Jazmne Sullivan.

Mark Ronson – Pieces of Us ft. King Princess

Having released her first material as recently as 2018, King Princess has already delivered some classics. The 20-year-old Brooklyn musician shares a tracklisting with the likes of Camilla Cabello and Miley Cyrus on Mark Ronson’s new album Late Night Feelings.

Drake – Money in the Bank ft. Rick Ross

To celebrate the Toronto Raptors’ first NBA title, Drake dropped the two-track release The Best in the World Pack. Money in the Bank is the one that got Twitter talking.

Lil Keed – Million Dollar Mansion ft. Young Thug

Back when Young Thug blew up around 2013, his slippery flows and off-key squeals sounded unlike any rapper in the world. Now, a new generation of rappers like Gunna and Lil Baby are using the style as their primary influence. Lil Keed – an Atlanta rapper on Thugger’s YSL label – dropped an impressive debut album Long Live Mexico. Here Keed and his mentor weave slimy vocals over a typically sugary beat from Playboi Carti producer P’ierre Bourne.

Joji – Sanctuary

An airy, Phil Collins-esque synth pop ballad from Joji – a member of Rich Brian’s 88rising collective.

Lykke Li — sex money feelings die (remix) feat. Lil Baby & snowsa

Swedish singer Lykke Li is refreshing 2018’s still sad still sexy album in our minds with a remix EP – this one involves Snowsa and the hyped Atlanta rapper Lil Baby.

More like this

The best of THE FACE. Straight to your inbox. 

00:00 / 00:00